NSW Metro Lightning 1 (Harbas 35’) drew. FQ Metro 1 (Robertson 12’) – NSW Metro Lightning won 3-2 on penalties.

NSW Metro Lightning have been crowned the U15 Boys champions with a thrilling penalty shootout win over FQ Metro at the AIS.

The scores were locked at 1-1 after full time and extra-time before NSW triumphed 3-2 in the shootout, with keeper Emlyn Cross making the key save to lift his side to the title.

The game started at a frantic pace, with both sides denied by the woodwork in the opening minutes.

The Lightning’s best chance of the half came in the sixth minute when Logan Gordon chipped a well-weighted pass into the path of Stefano Rossello, whose resulting volley sailed just wide of the goal.

The only goal in the opening stanza came in the 12th minute, as FQ’s Dyce Robertson turned his defender and fired a shot that struck the inside of the post and bounced in.

NSW Metro had chances to level the scores going into the break, but two strong saves from FQ keeper Connor Damsma meant the Queensland team took a 1-0 lead into half time.

Robertson nearly turned provider early in the second stanza as he found Caden Penniket with a lovely square pass to the top of the circle, but the Queensland captain was unable to hit the target.

Just as it looked like FQ would hold on for a 1-0 win, Lightning’s Alen Harbas hit a beautiful strike from out wide that curled past Damsma and into the net.

But that would be Harbas’ last involvement in the match, as he received a second yellow card two minutes from full time for bringing Robertson to ground.

Chances were few and far between in extra-time, and the game was ultimately decided in the shootout where Cross saved Nathan Weckert’s penalty to win the championship for NSW.