FQ Metro 3 (Vaitusi 9’, Herrington 16’, Milan 17’) def by. NSW Metro Thunder 6 (Sacks 12’, 21’, Cotter 13’, Jackson 22’, 30’, own goal 28’)

NSW Metro Thunder claimed the U12 Boys Championship with a thrilling extra-time victory over FQ Metro at the AIS on Friday Morning.

The two sides were locked at 3-3 at the end of regulation, but three goals in extra-time lifted NSW Metro to an entertaining 6-3 win.

The first half was an entertaining, see-sawing affair which saw both sides enjoy periods of dominance.

FQ started the better of the two sides though and didn’t have to wait long to open the scoring, as Kingston Vaitusi unloaded a long-range strike that sailed past NSW keeper Harry Turner and into the top corner.

NSW hit back shortly after, as Oliver Sacks and Dylan Cotter both found the back of the net within 30 seconds to put their side ahead.

FQ then responded with two quick goals of their own, with Lucas Herrington squirting a shot between the hands of Turner before Lachlan Milan tapped the ball home from close range to give his team a 3-2 lead at the half.

It took NSW just two second half minutes to draw level, with a mistake at the back opening the door for Lucas Jackson to chip the ball over the keeper and into the back of the net.

NSW had the best opportunity to win the match in the dying stages, as Jackson caught FQ napping with a quick kick-in before he fired a shot on goal, only to be denied by the crossbar.

Neither side could break the deadlock before the end of regulation, but it took NSW Metro just 30 extra-time seconds to hit the front, as Sacks received the ball out wide and curled a lovely shot into the bottom corner.

An own-goal and a second from Jackson rounded out the 6-3 score line and lifted NSW Metro to the title.